Top Menu

Changes to Tennessee CCW Permit Process

 

Tennessee — A new law that went into effect yesterday with the start of the new year, allows Tennessee citizens to complete an online training course in order to be issued a CCW permit.

Early in 2019, the Tennessee General Assembly passed a bill allowing citizens to get their concealed carry permit after passing a 90-minute online firearms training course. This option is what is being called the “Concealed Carry Only” option. An “Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit” can also be obtained if a citizen whishes to also open carry.

The Concealed Only version of the new permit process has also been decreased in cost. Fees for obtaining the permit are now $65, down from the $100 in fees required to be issued an “Enhanced” permit.

While the online “Concealed Only” permit does not require a Tennessean to attend a firearms familiarization portion at a gun range, it is still highly recommended that you do so on your own time. Not only is it vitally important to be extremely familiar with the firearm you are planning to carry for self-defense, but it’s equally important to understand how, and when to draw your weapon in defense of a life.

Concealed Carry.com offers a wide variety in video training programs to be used in addition to physical instruction by a qualified firearms instructor.

Read here for our videos on Self-defense Law, Home Defense, and Concealed Carry.

According to the TN.gov site:

Concealed Only:

  • 2019 Public Chapter 479
  • Must carry Concealed at all times
  • The fee for the permit will be $65
  • Training requirements
  • Must fill out CCP Proof of Training form to submit along with training proof
  • The card will have an eight (8) year expiration date
  • May not carry at any school or university (public or private)
  • Name based background check run every 5 years

Enhanced:

  • Effective 1/1/2020, the current handgun carry permit will be referred to as an Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit.
  • Application fee of $100 ($65 if active or honorably discharged military)
  • Allows open or concealed carry.
  • Permits will be issued for eight (8) years.
  • The permit shall entitle the permittee to carry any handgun – which the permittee legally owns or possesses.
  • The permittee shall have the permit in their immediate possession at all times when carrying a handgun and shall display the permit on demand of a law enforcement officer.
  • Training requirements

Lifetime (Enhanced Only):

  • Allows open or concealed carry.
  • Application fee of $300 ($265 if active or honorably discharged military), $200 if upgrading from eight (8) year permit
  • No expiration date
  • The permit shall entitle the permittee to carry any handgun – which the permittee legally owns or possesses
  • The permittee shall have the permit in their immediate possession at all times when carrying a handgun and shall display the permit on demand of a law enforcement officer.
  • Training requirements
  • Name based background check run every 5 years

Temporary Permit:

  • No application fee
  • Pursuant to TCA §36-6-626; §39-17-1308a; §39-17-1365 a person granted an Order of Protection has the ability to carry a handgun for 21 calendar days if they legally own the firearm and carry a copy of the Protective Order
  • Such person may also apply for a temporary Handgun Carry Permit within the same 21 days
  • A person who does not apply for the temporary Permit within 21 days will not be authorized to carry a handgun once 21 days has lapsed
  • To be eligible to receive a temporary permit, one must apply in person with a certified copy of the Order of Protection, provide proof of identity and residency, and meet all other qualifications for a Handgun Carry Permit
  • Prior to issuing the temporary Permit, a criminal history check will be conducted
  • The temporary Permit is valid only in Tennessee for 60 days and will be issued as a letter without photograph

, , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply